You Are Not Here Because You Belong Here

You belong here because you are here.

Recently, a tech company had a female employee depicted in one of the advertisements for their company. There was sexist backlash, folks suggesting that the woman in the ad must have been an actress or part of some kind of ploy, because she didn’t look like an engineer.

What does an engineer look like then, if not like all of the people who are engineers?

Rightfully, there has been a fantastic twitter response, with lots of women who are engineers posting photos of themselves with the hashtag #ilooklikeanengineer.

They are not engineers because they look like engineers.

They look like engineers because they are engineers.

Still, for those of us who are less represented in a field or community, it can be easy to internalize that idea – that we are alone and therefore don’t belong.

I have spent a lot of time feeling out of place and somehow wrong as a queer and trans person in science. I look around and feel surrounded by straight cis people in a world that suggests that I should be straight and cis, and I feel like I don’t belong. I don’t fit the profile, and what am I even doing here?

But that calculation is backwards. If the people who make up an environment are the ones who define that environment, and I am one of the people here, then I am part of the definition of that environment, no matter what anyone else says.

I have a science background. I spend most of my days reading and doing science. I am a scientist. I am queer and trans, and I am what a scientist looks like. It doesn’t matter if I don’t fit the profile, or if other people think I shouldn’t exist. I do exist, and I am here.

This mindset has made a huge difference for me. Instead of feeling like I don’t really belong anywhere in this world that tells me I shouldn’t, I can take a deep breath in and remember that no one can tell me I don’t belong, because I am here.

No one can tell you that you don’t belong, either, because you are also here. Or there, wherever you are. You are part of the very definition of the communities you participate in, no matter how different or ‘other’ you feel.

Believe it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to You Are Not Here Because You Belong Here

  1. kwixote says:

    Yes. Well said.

  2. Wow, wonderful weblog structure! How long have you been running a blog
    for? you make running a blog look easy. The full glance of
    your site is wonderful, let alone the content material!

  3. Ellie says:

    great points altogether, you simply received a new reader.
    What may you recommend in regards to your post that you just made some days in the past? Any positive?

  4. tv series says:

    Simply desire to say your article is as surprising. The clearness in your post is just spectacular and i can assume you are an expert
    on this subject. Well with your permission let me
    to grab your feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please continue the enjoyable work.

  5. Thanks for finally talking about >You Are Not Here Because You Belong Here | It Doesn’t Have to Be This Way <Loved it!

Leave a Reply

